"I am a Norfolk man and Glory in being so." Horatio Nelson


Wymondham claim second county fours title together

Wymondham's Chris Mann, Debbie Sparham, Jon Sparham and Jack Pye won their second Norfolk County Fours title together at Hingham Sports and Social Club after a four year absence last winning the title in 2015/16 with the four reunited since then. The four started off on the back foot in the group stages against Forncett having trailed 1-7 with just three ends remaining  which prompted a change and saw Jack Pye skip and Jon Sparham moved to three and the change worked with them picking up three three's to win 10-7. Their final group match saw them lose to Bob Carter's Nigel Willard, Jean Woods, Melvin Woods and East Tuddenham's John Turner 4-8 but as Forncett had already lost twice both fours were already through. The Wymondham block faced Hempnall's Kerry Greenacre and County Council's Claire, Lewis and Owen Cranston and were involved in a tight and competitve match but emerged 9-8 winners. The semi finals saw them up against Halvergate's Keith Cooke, Horsford BC's Simon Warnes and Bob Carter's Morgan Warnes and Gary Best. As expected the match was full of quality but a costly dropped five on end four proved to be the difference as the Wymondham four ran out with an 11-6 win. The final saw a repeat of the group stages as Wymondham looked for revenge against the Bob Carter, East Tuddenham four and they certainly did as they produced a dominant display to lead 14-1 after five ends and was enough for the Woods' four to concede the final with three ends left. The third fourth playoff was won by Best's four who beat Hempnall's Neil Davidson. Halvergate's Robbie Lamb, Bob Carter's Jamie Forster and Halvergate's David Lamb 14-5. Last season's winners Rob Howlett, Ryan Fox, Jason Woods and Simon Willies went out in the group stages having lost both matches to Mel Barker's four and David Lamb's four. Quarter final results D. Lamb 13 K. Suffolk 7, K. Greenacre 8 J. Sparham 9, G. Best 13 M. Barker 2, M. Woods 7 R. Lamb 6. 

Fours win 1920

Champions Chris Mann, Jack Pye, Debbie Sparham and Jon Sparham

Four rup 201920

Runners-up John Turner, Melvin Woods, Jean Woods and Nigel Willard

Mobile Menu