"I am a Norfolk man and Glory in being so." Horatio Nelson




Norfolk Short Mat Bowls was formed in 1986, originally there were only 3 member clubs: Wreningham B.C, East Tuddenham B.C and Carleton Rode B.C, with Drayton Sports joining in December.

These clubs held the first ever County Championships with Wreningham hosting the 'Triples' on 16th November, Carleton Rode hosting the 'Fours' on 7th December, East Tuddenham hosting the 'Pairs' on 14th December and Drayton Sports hosting the 'Singles' on 25th January.

The first winter league was formed in 1987 and ran for two seasons, 1987-88 & 1988-89 and was called the City League. The format was 2 blocks per team, 21 ends, 2 woods. The initial clubs were:

 Anglian Windows 'A'

East Tuddenham 'B'

Anglian Windows 'B'

Jarrolds Social Club 'A' 

Bob Carter Centre

Jarrolds Social Club 'B' 

Carleton Rode

Wreningham 'A' 

East Tuddenham 'A'

Wreningham 'B' 

Another league that operated for one season in 1988-89 was the Drakes Pride League comprising of Langley, Hempnall, Earsham, Thurton and Kirby Bedon. Anglia Bowls Centre, owned by Mark Hedges who was NCSMBA Chairman from 1988 to 1990, were actively promoting the sport and demonstrating it in village halls and sports centres around Norfolk. This resulted in a rapid expansion of the number of affiliated clubs ( 4 in 1986/87 to 42 in 1989/90 ) and it became obvious that a new league structure was needed. At the N.C.S.M.B.A Annual General Meeting held at New Costessey on 23-07-89 it was decided to form five geographically based leagues. It was also decided that the sport would be administrated by a N.C.S.M.B.A Management Committee consisting of the elected officers plus two delegates from each league formed. The five leagues formed were as shown below and were given numbers from 1 to 5 but soon acquired names as their own committees were formed. Other leagues formed since are the Bure League (1993) and the Tens League (1998) and the Coastal League. Some Norfolk teams play in cross border leagues with Cambs & Suffolk teams but these leagues do not have delegates sitting on the N.C.S.M.B.A Committee. The Norfolk Summer League was formed in 1990 and at its height comprised of four divisions with a 2 up 2 down promotion and relegation system. Over recent years the entry numbers have seriously declined and the league did not have enough member clubs to compete in the summer of 2023. 

League 1 (which became the Thurne League, now defunct)


Potter Heigham


Stalham 'A' 

 Martham Stalham B



League 2 (which became the Breckland League)




Carleton Rode

Watton 'A' 


East Tuddenham

Watton 'B' 


League 3 (which became the South Norfolk League)










League 4 (which became the Wensum League, now defunct)

Anglian Windows 





Woodbastwick 'A' 


Hevingham 'A' 


League 5 (which became the City of Norwich League)

British Legion 

Eastern Electricity

St Andrews Hospital

British Rail


Wentworth Green 

County Council

Kirby Bedon 


Mobile Menu