"I am a Norfolk man and Glory in being so." Horatio Nelson


Kirby Bedon win secures top flight status

Kirby Bedon entertained Thorpe Marriott in a vital relegation encounter in NCSMBA Summer League Division One with Kirby Bedon desperate for points to avoid being relegated for the first time ever in the Summer League. The visitors knew they needed to win by at least 6-2 to save their top flight status and send Kirby down with already relegated Diss Green but on the night they failed to collect a single point. In the first half Thorpe Marriott’s former Kirby Bedon bowler George Clarke skipped a triple with Mandy Marshall at lead and Kath Frost at number two but Clarke’s local knowledge of the home mats failed to help him as Jimmy Dye, Joe Brown & John Aggas came home clear winners by 15-7. On the other mat Kirby Bedon’s Carol Aggas, Tony Orum & Phil Watson beat Jenny Walker, Ted Redwood & John Jarvis by 17-14 and Thorpe Marriott knew that it was all over. After the break Kirby Bedon kept up the pressure with Phil Watson beating George Clarke by 14-12. Then Gerald Chilvers, Joe Brown & John Aggas stormed to a 28-3 win against Sheila Redwood, Ted Redwood & John Jarvis in the style that was once Kirby Bedon’s hallmark in their glory years when they won title after title and dominated the league. With their Division One status retained Kirby Bedon can know concentrate fully on the Summer Cup Final at St Faiths when they face Wymondham on Monday 11th September. In their previous match Kirby Bedon had been beaten 6-2 at Deaf Sports but knew that the two points picked up by Carol Aggas, Gerald Chilvers & Phil Watson against Robin Amos and his triple were valuable ones. Laura Hawksworth’s triple led Deaf Sports to victory beating Phil Watson’s triple 11-9 and John Aggas’s triple 23-11. In Division Two Forncett entertained Horsford Heroes in a top of the table clash. Horsford went into the match just one point ahead of Forncett so a 4-4 draw would have clinched them the Division Two title as well as promotion. Forncett’s Mike Smail, Jan Smail & Peter Lock gave their side a great start beating Nigel James, Carol Kemp & Peter Fox by 20-10 and when Keith Humphreys, Tony Ottewell & Linda Preece added a 13-12 win against Richard Hart, Sue Fox & Jane James Forncett’s tails were up. In the second half Forncett’s Andy Coleman, Tony Ottewell & Linda Preece beat Nigel James, Carol Kemp & Peter Fox 30-7 with the other game between Peter Lock & Jane James drawn 11-11. This left Forncett celebrating the Division Two championship while Horsford will have to wait on the outcome of the Watton v Windows match to see if they gain promotion as runners-up. Watton will need an 8-0 home win to pip Horsford and will be hopeful as they have already beaten Windows 8-0 away earlier in the season.  

John Aggas resized     

            John Aggas - two vital wins for Kirby Bedon


Mobile Menu