"I am a Norfolk man and Glory in being so." Horatio Nelson


Thorpe Marriott champions at last!

For the first time in their history Thorpe Marriott are City of Norwich League champions after winning 12-2 away to Sprowston in their last match of the season. The result left Thorpe Marriott two points ahead of defending champions Horsford BC. With an inferior shots difference compared to Horsford BC the Thorpe Marriott players knew that they needed to pick up at least eleven points against Sprowston to be sure of the title and that any mistakes could see the title slip from their grasp. Marjorie Hall, Trevor Pinchen & Tony Turner gave the visitors a dream start beating Margaret Harman’s triple 20-3 and Jenny Walker, Mandy Marshall & John Jarvis completed a perfect first half for Thorpe Marriott beating David Dewing’s triple. A second half win for team captain Janet Pinchen, playing with Bob McPherson & George Clarke, clinched a 12-2 points win and the long awaited title success. Thorpe Marriott had previously finished in second place five times in the City of Norwich League. Their only previous winter league success was in 1994 when they finished as champions in the now defunct Wensum League.    marriottMarriott's Trevor Pinchen, Majorie Hall, Janet Pinchen and Jenny Walker.

Mobile Menu