"I am a Norfolk man and Glory in being so." Horatio Nelson


Dennis Moore Tournament 2019

This year’s Dennis Moore Tournament, held annually to honour the memory of Connaught’s Dennis Moore, was held on 24th March at Hingham. Dennis Moore worked tirelessly for the Breckland League and also served as NCSMBA Umpires Officer from 1993 to 2000. The morning session comprised of the singles and fours events whilst the afternoon session comprised of the pairs and triples events. Nine of the ten Breckland League clubs entered a team in all disciplines. There were nine entries in each event all playing four games each.


The winner of the Singles was Wymondham’s Chris Mann who won all his games with a shot difference of plus 44. The runner-up was Harling Unicorn’s Mike Tarrant who also won all his games but with a shot difference of plus 25 shots.


The winners of the Fours were Carleton Rode’s Ann Biddulph, Keith Buck, Angela Bond and Graham Mobbs who won three games with a shot difference of plus 8 shots. Runners-up were Forncett’s Jan Smail, Andrew Coleman, Gill Coleman and Peter Locke who also won three games with a shot difference of plus 6 shots.


The winners of the Pairs event were Wymondham’s Hayley Osborne and Jon Sparham who won all their games with plus 21 shots .Runners up were Carlton Rode’s Morris Taylor and Terry Newby winning 3 games with plus 11 shots.


The Triples winners were Wymondham’s Pat Saunders, Debbie Sparham and Jack Pye who won all their games with plus 32 shots. Runners up were Connaught A’s Dave Quadling, Mike Parsons and Sylvia Parsons winning 3 games with plus 17. Close behind in third place was Carleton Rode’s Mike Newby, David Blundell and Trish Taylor also with 6 points but plus 14.


The Dennis Moore trophy for overall “shots for” was won by Wymondham with 190 shots. Runners up Carleton Rode scored 145 shots closely followed by Connaught A with 138.

Thanks go out to Hingham SMBC for hosting the tournament and to all who helped to put out the equipment and then put it away afterwards. Also thanks to Wendy and Cynthia for the tea’s etc, Elaine and Graham for the Raffle, and to Bob Oatway for organising the day.

chris mann 9 18 RS20

Chris Mann of Wymondham won the Singles event

Mobile Menu