"I am a Norfolk man and Glory in being so." Horatio Nelson

THE UMPIRES CORNER

UMPIRES' CORNER Edition 4

Welcome to the fourth edition of this column, continuing occasional comments on short mat bowls matters in the county from the umpire's point of view. We are now into the new winter season for short mat bowling at league level, as well as County Championships and National Qualifiers being well under way. The Inter County Championships (ICC) have begun, with Norfolk County fielding a Premier team against Essex, Northants and Kent, and an A team against Essex, Suffolk and Kent. I have been involved in umpiring at all of the county level events so far, held at the Hingham Sports Centre, as well as on one occasion when I travelled away with the team to deepest Essex to assist with the umpiring duties.

The visit to Essex also gave me a chance in my new capacity as Regional Umpires Manager to make a start at meeting other umpires and discussing relevant matters for us locally. One of our most important issues is one that is affecting most counties, that being the shortage of active umpires. (Or as someone termed it to me, the shortness of umpires, which I did not take personally). So, I return to what is becoming a recurring theme for me in this column. As promised, I have written to all county secretaries, asking them to display a flyer, in the hope that it will attract just a few bowlers to consider doing the training to be an umpire, and then moving on to take the examination and become qualified. If you have not seen the flyer, then you will find a copy of it somewhere else on this website. So, why not get in contact with me and see what it is all about? Brian Daley of Essex tells me that he has already held a taster day for prospective umpires, with some success in attracting new recruits, so we might well consider that in the new year.

Two of the many positives I get out of umpiring are firstly the challenge to do as good a job as I can, trying to improve by experience, and secondly the fun I have doing it. Sometimes, in the latter case, there is real amusement, however unitended. For example, a while ago, I observed a horrendous foot fault, with admittedly a very large shoe sticking at least half its length out of the side of the delivery mat. I (hopefully politely) made an obervation on this infringement to the perpetrator, to which came the calm reply, "Yes, there are a lot of foot faults in this game." I have to say, I was rather lost for a suitable response after that. It was perhaps just as well that the bowl delivered missed the head by some margin, which might be some kind of justice, I guess. Of course, even minor foot faults must be dealt with, as there is no allowed margin of error, so please don't be shy in giving a warning firstly and then applying the rules on any subsequent occasion. The umpires won't be and will!

The teaser I set last time, about a skipper attempting to use the fender to dislodge the jack into the live area, as I wrote, was based on something that actually ocuured during this year's national finals. The decision made was that this was not a legitimate shot. The jack can only be legally displaced by having initial contact with a legitimate bowl in the live area or a toucher, legitimately moving, in the ditch. If following that legal contact the jack strikes the fender and is further displaced, then that is allowed. Otherwise, if the shot is played and the jack is so displaced, the head shall be restored to its original position, as decided by the opposing skip in consultation with his/her team players on the mat only.

Now for this time's teaser, and again it is from an actual match situation, where a decision had to be made by the umpires present. The good news for the umpires (and you now) was that the situation is actually covered by the rules, so all you have to do is find the relevant section in the book!

In a fours game, one of the Thirds decides to stay at the delivery end until they have bowled both of their bowls, whilst the other Third chooses to go down to the head end with their skip at commencement of the end. The lead and second of the side whose Third has stayed with them whilst they bowl, decide not go to the head end once both leads and both seconds have delivered their bowls, but stay at the delivery end. Are they allowed to do this? What rule covers this situation?

Peter Walker

UMPIRES' CORNER  Edition 3

Welcome again to my occasional column on umpiring matters in short mat bowls, both at county level and nationally. I hope you have found at least something of interest in the first two editions.

The summer league in the county is very much underway as I write and possibly this time of year can be regarded by umpires as something of a close season for them, as duties both locally and nationally tend to be far less intense than during the rest of the year. However, it does not mean that everything stops for umpires, with competitions still taking place and background administration tasks for the likes of umpiring officers still having to be tackled. Additionally, there is the matter of keeping up to date with any rule changes or amendments as well as making sure you do not go rusty on existing rules through lack of practice. Personally, I continue to test myself regularly, both on the rules and in the various methods of measuring heads. I may also try out possible new equipment, to see if it would be of benefit to me.

On the subject of keeping in practice, I will take the opportunity to mention - I won’t say promote - the Umpires’ Training Programme document which I have produced. This is a (relatively) brief, illustrated manual designed to support potential umpires in their training. It covers hopefully just about all aspects of an umpire’s duties, both in theory and practice, concentrating particularly on measuring techniques, as well as giving guidance on the examinations which must be passed to become an ESMBA umpire. Copies are freely available for potential candidates.

We are very short of qualified umpires in the county and this puts a heavy load upon those few we do have when it comes to officiating at matches where umpires are required to be present. I am well aware of how tiring it can be umpiring at full concentration level through a whole day, on some occasions as the sole umpire. At national level, for example, there is usually an umpiring team, so that rest periods can be taken by individuals whilst a full presence is maintained on the rinks. Ideally, the umpiring team consists of nine members, in three sets of three, operating one hour on (during which they move along to a new set of mats midway) and half an hour off. Of course, we cannot extend to such luxuries at county level, but it is nevertheless important that we do try to increase the number of umpires available for matches. Hence, I continue to put effort into getting more short mat members in the county to consider training to become an umpire. Soon, I will be writing to all county club secretaries, asking if they will distribute copies of a short flyer I will produce trying to attract potential recruits for umpiring.

I am sure that most of you found the correct answer to the rules teaser I set in the second edition of this column. It is an interesting one from an umpire’s point of view, I think, because most players in such a situation simply return the bowl they displaced to its original position. Of course, according to Rule (4) (b) Displacement by a participating player, the opposing skip has no fewer than 4 options in this case: restoring the bowl to its original position (as is usually done), letting it remain in its new position (could be an advantage), declaring the bowl dead and removing it from the rink mat (again could be an advantage) or playing the end again. It is a case of a side knowing and legitimately using the rules to their advantage.

Now for another teaser, and this one comes from an actual situation in a national final this year, where an umpire had to make a decision on the action taken by a skip:

During an end, the jack is straddling the ditch line so it is partially in the live area, but it is touching the corner of one arm of the fender which is correctly positioned level by the ditch line. The skip when he goes to deliver a bowl declares that he is deliberately going to play with weight into the ditch to pivot the fender and thus spring the jack out further into the live area. Is this a legitimate shot? Give reasons for your answer.

The decision made, with justification, will be given next time as usual.

Peter Walker.

UMPIRES' CORNER  Edition 2

Welcome to the second edition of Umpires' Corner and thank you to those who made encouraging comments about the first contribution to this occasional column for the NCSMBA website.

It might be the case that the first thing to wear out on an umpire's clothing is the knees of his or her trousers, or perhaps the knees themselves. Umpires do an awful lot of kneeling down, after all, closely scrutinising heads of bowls to be measured. And, as it is usually the close measures the umpires have to deal with, great care has to be taken, especially when there are leaning bowls involved. One does not have to be an umpire for too long to come across measures where it is a matter of a millimetre or even less to determine a counting bowl. Of course, umpires are trained and examined on just how to deal with such situations. However, it also becomes quickly clear that a measure can be affected by even the slightest of movement on the mat before, say, an umpire is called in to adjudicate. 

It is always best to avoid situations where a question might arise as to whether a bowl has been displaced even slightly by a player's actions before a measure is taken. Appendix 1 in the Rules Book defines a displaced or disturbed bowl (or jack) as one which has been accidentally moved (by any means) otherwise than by a bowl (or jack) in play. Rule B4 covers what to do in the case of a disturbed bowl and Rule C4 covers the same for a disturbed jack. There are obvious cases when these rules will apply, but are there other situations when it is not quite so obvious? Umpires regularly see quite a few of these instances which are normally just ignored by players, and may well be considered as too trivial. However, it is worth bearing in mind the comments about tight measures.

Here are a few commonly seen instances of technically disturbed bowls which could affect a measure. Placing a foot near to bowls to consider a possible shot. Dragging a cloth between bowls to indicate a possible route for a delivered bowl. Placing a finger on the mat in the ditch and lifting a bowl to see if it is marked as a toucher (once lifted, the bowl should be considered as dead, whatever the case). Marking a toucher by holding a leaning bowl with one hand and swiping chalk across it with the other (better to use spray, or nominate before the next bowl is delivered and mark it as soon as it is safe to do so). Kicking conceded bowls out of a completed head before measuring other potential shots.

None of us want to be so hot on every minute aspect of the rules, which would distract from any enjoyment of playing the game. It is always best to avoid such situations in the first place, and in most cases it is easily possible to do so. Naturally, sometimes we can only but do our best. For example, when placing touchers  or the jack back into their marked positions in the ditch after being moved by non-touchers there might be some small unavoidable error. And, of course, umpires have the luxury under the rules of simply replacing any disturbed bowl or jack they might accidentally move when measuring, although they do make every effort to avoid that embarrassment. In which case, the advice is, if in any doubt, pull the umpire out of their quiet life and make them take the strain!

I had a number of people give me the correct response to the rules teaser I set last time, correctly quoting the special rule for this situation, which is contained in C. THE JACK (2) LIVE JACK (b) on page 13 of the LAWS book. The bowl is a legitimate toucher, but note that the jack must be live.

Now for the next teaser:

A player accidentally knocks over a leaning bowl in the live area whilst they are inspecting the head during an end being played. They replace the bowl to its leaning position and leave the mat. Is this a legitimate remedy under the rules or are there other options open and to whom are they available if there are any?

Answer next time as usual.

And finally, my offer again for any of you considering training to become an ESMBA umpire, do please get in contact with me (contact details on the MANAGEMENT page) and I will be very pleased to assist you in applying and supporting you with suitable training for the practical examination.

Peter Walker

UMPIRES’ CORNER Edition 1

Even if you have only occasionally attended short mat bowls matches at county, or perhaps national level, you will more than likely have noticed those people who stand around in smart maroon blazers or waistcoats, with little metal cases, and who only seem to burst into action when they are asked to measure an end of bowls. These are of course the umpires. But what exactly is their role, apart from a bit of measuring now and again? 

I am the currently elected Umpires’ Officer for Norfolk County Short Mat Bowls Association, and in this occasional column I hope to highlight the work of our umpires, to give you a wider appreciation of what exactly their role is in the game, and just as importantly, what it is not. I will also feature some common situations with which umpires have to deal, and pose a few rules teasers which all umpires should know about!

All umpires are directly responsible to the ESMBA which appoints and directs them, through the National Director of Umpiring, currently Joseph Newsome. To become an umpire, training is given and then any candidate has to be successful in all three parts of an examination, consisting of written answers and an oral test on the rules of the game, followed by a practical test on situations which any umpire might face in carrying out their duties. The various grades of umpiring start at county level (requiring a new umpire to have officiated in at least 6 qualifying matches), progressing through to national level (at least 4 qualifying matches) and then to international level. Umpires can also train and qualify to be examiners of umpiring candidates.

The duties of an umpire are clearly listed in the ESMBA Laws of the Game handbook, a copy of which all registered players should possess. The relevant section is on page 30 of the current edition. Reading it will immediately show that ‘measure of all difficult shots when requested’ is only fourth on the list contained there. Top of the list is to ‘enforce the ESMBA Laws of the Game’. Of course, this does not mean that umpires are going to be stomping about laying the law down at every opportunity. They aim to be as unobtrusive as possible. However, they are there to ensure that the rules of the game are adhered to at all times, and will step in if necessary, in an appropriate way. Usually, a quiet word of guidance is all that is required. The second most important duty is to be a consultant on any aspect of the laws and possible consequences arising. In the event of a dispute, an umpire will arbitrate and make a decision which is final. Umpires will naturally do their upmost to perform their duties to the highest standards, but players are not allowed to interfere with an umpire’s legitimate exercise of their duties or dispute any decision made by an umpire. 

Importantly, during the normal progress of a match, an umpire is in charge of the play but never the playing. For example, a foot-fault will be picked up by an umpire, but they will politely decline to give advice on which bowl may be nearer to the jack before an end is completed. 

Now, here is the first rules teaser for you to ponder:

During an end, the jack is sitting on the ditch line so that part of it is in the live area. A live bowl which has just been played enters the ditch without touching the jack first and then without touching the fender or any bowls at rest in the ditch it contacts the jack. Is this bowl dead or a toucher and which rule covers this situation? The answer will be given next time.    

And finally, if any of you would like to consider becoming an ESMBA umpire, then do please get in touch with me (contact details on the MANAGEMENT page) and I will be very pleased to assist you in applying, as well as entering you into our training and examination preparation programme.

Peter Walker